Skip to content
January 2, 2011 / farrelledwards

The Big Bucks

A few weeks back I was having a bit of a rough go.  I’m not quite feeling up to this rather large task.  It’s going to be hard to get Dad through to a proof of concept (or not).  I don’t know how to set things up organizationally.  It isn’t going to be easy to get insurance.  The matter of Ajay is very delicate because he’s so important to the project.  I need to set up an independent business, but it needs to be linked close enough to USU that we don’t scare any grant money away.  And USU is going to give us some grief because Dad & I happen to be related.  This is going to be hard.

A year ago I called David to tell him I was quitting EA and striking out onto my own.  I was going to take a month to get my engineering feet under me again, then find contract work to keep me going.  “I’m not going back after the Christmas break,” I said.

His response was not at all what I expected.  He hit me hard, right in the nose (well, at least the over-the-phone equivalent).  He didn’t say, “Hey, that seems really scarey & cool.”  Rather, he itemized the several reasons that it was a really bad plan to quit a good job and strike out without any real prospects or idea of what to do.  That call was a good part of the reason I decided to give EA my best work for a little while longer.  Good thing.  I wouldn’t have been able to work on Gardens.

Fast forward to now.  I have this similar hairbrained idea and I really wanted David’s perspective on it.  So I called him for a gut-check.  I wanted his feedback on this idea (and if I’m honest, I wanted to complain a little).  I needed to know his unfiltered opinion.

“I can’t think of any reasons not to do this.  When you laid the whole thing out, it makes a lot of sense and could really push your career forward.”

“So, this isn’t going to hurt me down the line somehow?”

“No way, you having to solve those problems, and solving them elegantly, will only serve to make you more attractive to future employers.”

“It’s gonna be hard.”

“Yeah, and that’s why you get paid the big bucks.”

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Snelson / Jan 3 2011 7:34 pm

    Uhhhh.. wha?? You quitting??????? Can I come work for you?

Leave a Reply

